Personal injury protection in Utah, also called PIP insurance, pays for medical and other related expenses if you are in a car accident, regardless of who is at fault. How does Utah PIP work? While the coverage can be a bit complex, it is designed for your protection. PIP coverage is the first coverage to pay out for your medical expenses after an accident, rather than having to wait for an at-fault driver’s liability coverage to pay. PIP insurance in Utah will also pay out if you are a pedestrian or bicyclist injured in an accident with a car.
If you are looking for the best car insurance in Utah, be sure to talk to your agent about PIP insurance. While you’ll have to carry at least the state’s minimum requirements, you may want to purchase higher limits. PIP coverage could save you money in the long term if you are involved in an accident.
What is PIP insurance?
As is true in almost all states, Utah requires all drivers to carry at least minimum limits of certain types of car insurance coverage to drive legally. Utah’s required coverage types include bodily injury and property damage liability coverage, which protect your finances by paying for the other party’s damages if you cause an accident. In the Beehive State, drivers are also required to carry PIP.
PIP insurance in Utah pays for a broad range of medical costs, as well as lost wages and household tasks, if you are injured in a car accident. Utah requires that you purchase at least a minimum of $3,000 in PIP coverage, but you can buy higher limits for more robust coverage.
In addition to the state’s required coverage types, there are other types of coverage you may purchase, such as collision and comprehensive, that can give you fuller protection for your vehicle. All your coverage types are combined into one policy.
How does Utah PIP work?
PIP in Utah is designed to help make sure that medical expenses and other qualifying costs are paid promptly after a car accident. Regardless of who was at fault, if you are injured in an accident, you will submit your PIP claim to your own insurer.
What does PIP cover? Here are some of the things you may be able to use your PIP coverage for:
- Ambulance care
- Doctor fees
- Surgical costs
- Nursing care
- Funeral costs
- Mental health costs
- Lost wages
- Household tasks (such as cleaning, if you are unable to do them following an accident)
So, for example, if someone hits you and your leg is broken, the other driver’s liability coverage may pay eventually, but you will file a PIP claim with your own company first, so that the bills are paid faster. You may also be able to hire someone to mow your lawn until you are back on your feet. Keep in mind that your PIP does have limits though, so be sure to review your coverage with your agent or claim representative.
PIP may limit your ability to sue the at-fault driver for pain and suffering. As a no-fault state, Utah requires PIP but also heavily regulates its intricacies. In Utah, you can sue if expenses from an accident exceed $3,000, or if your injuries qualify based on state laws.
Is PIP required in Utah?
PIP insurance is required by Utah law, along with liability coverage. If you are stopped by the police and do not have auto insurance, you will likely face fines and other possible penalties. The only exception to the insurance requirement is if you have a surety bond or certificate from the state treasurer indicating that you are capable of paying accident costs without insurance.
In Utah, the state minimum insurance requirements are:
- $25,000 bodily injury liability per person
- $65,000 bodily injury liability per accident
- $15,000 property damage liability per accident
- $3,000 personal injury protection (PIP)
You must have an auto insurance policy with at least these coverage types and limits to drive legally.
How much does PIP cost in Utah?
The cost of car insurance in Utah varies based on multiple factors that insurers take into consideration when determining premiums. These include your age, the make and model of your car, your driving history and the levels of coverage you choose. Your PIP coverage is only one part of your policy, but the premium will still vary. If you are looking for cheap car insurance in Utah, you may want to get quotes from several carriers to compare premiums.
Key things to note about PIP insurance in Utah
- PIP insurance in Utah is required by law; you will need to carry at least the minimum $3,000 limit to drive legally in the state.
- PIP coverage in Utah can pay for medical costs, lost wages, funeral costs and even housekeeping costs if necessary after an accident.
- Utah is a no-fault state, so your PIP coverage will be used first if you are injured in an accident, regardless of fault.
Frequently asked questions
How and when do I file a PIP claim?
You will likely want to file a PIP claim as soon as possible after an accident. You will file it with your own insurer, or the insurer of the vehicle owner if you are a passenger. You may even file a PIP claim if you are a pedestrian or bicyclist who is hit by a car. In Utah, if you are hit as a cyclist or pedestrian, the at-fault driver’s PIP would respond to your injuries and yours could be used secondarily.
Are PIP and medical payments the same?
No. These coverage types are similar in that they are both designed to cover some of the medical costs associated with injuries from a car accident. PIP tends to cover more than medical payments coverage, though. For example, PIP may cover lost wages that arise from an accident, while medical payments coverage is strictly for medical and funeral costs. In some states, both coverage types are available, but in most states only one or the other is offered.
— to www.bankrate.com